love the process

Recently I was talking with a friend about our works in progress and what we take into consideration as we choose our projects. Will we actually wear the thing we are about to start making? Does it fit our individual visions about what we want our wardrobes to be? Over time we’ve both had our share of clams, projects we liked making that just weren’t practical, pieces we just never seem to choose to wear. We also lamented that what we want to wear has shifted over time, naturally, so sometimes it seems like we’re aiming at a moving target.

Then, today I listened to a podcast conversation between actors Jessie Tyler Ferguson and Elizabeth Banks. They were talking about their careers over the past few decades, particularly about how some projects went well, others not so much. Both of them mentioned having been involved in less successful projects that were very enjoyable to make. Banks said she’s realized that one of the most important things she’s learned in her career was to learn to love the process. Some things will be well received, others will not, but if you focus on doing your best work on the project at hand, you are learning and growing nonetheless.

It seems like this might be a good attitude to take with knitting and crochet projects as well. Knitters often talk about being interested in either the process or the product. Maybe a reasonable balance of both is worth pursuing. For instance, I’m very attracted to making intricate and detailed knitting and crochet projects, but sometimes things turn out a little too wild for my personal taste (I’m looking at you, freeform crochet!). So, I’ve learned to look out for elements that might let things go too far (like dramatic texture and high contrast), and I’m usually able to tone some of that down. When I want to do something that might be a bit much, I put it in an accessory or an art piece.

And if I miss the mark, well, I suppose I can enjoy the fact that I’m learning and growing, and I had a good time making it. After all, I like knitting and crocheting. It helps, also, that finished projects can be unraveled, if you can stand it, and the yarn can be used to make something else. They can represent potential instead of failure. Even in freeform crochet, if you’re willing to put in the time and effort, you can reshape your misfire into a completely new creation. Maybe one day I’ll share a photo of my rich stash of potential…

About lisaviolinviola

Freelance violinist/violist, freeform crochet and knit artist/teacher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to love the process

  1. CA says:

    Oh wow, those photos are all beautiful!

  2. teresauzzle says:

    I had fun knitting it but I just blocked a sweater that grew as I knitted. Thanks for teaching me a better way to look at it. Anything you don’t want, I will buy from you!💕

Leave a comment